SVM Research Faculty Profiles | St. George's University

SVM Research Faculty Profiles

The following profiles represent the SVM faculty involved in research and SVM Adjunct and Cooperating faculty who collaborate with SVM researchers.  SVM faculty also collaborate with many other researchers at institutions in North and South America, Europe, Africa and Asia.  These collaborations are reflected within the individual SVM faculty research profile.

SVM Faculty

The following individuals are full-time faculty in the SVM involved in research.  These profiles reflect primarily those faculty engaged in hypothesis-based, original research.  Also included are faculty who contribute to veterinary scholarship through authoring book chapters, being on editorial boards and by being major organizers/contributors to symposia, workshops and continuing education.

SGU Cooperating Faculty

The following individuals are full-time SGU faculty who are either in the School of Medicine, the School of Arts and Sciences or the School of Graduate Studies and collaborate with SVM faculty on research.

NameFaculty TypeArea of Interest
Firdous Ahmad Khan, BVSc, MVSc, DVSc, DACT
Assistant Professor
fkhan8@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyTheriogenology, Equine and bovine endometritis, Uterine proteomics, Follicular dynamics, Canine transmissible venereal tumor
Tom Aifuo Aire, DVM, PhD
Program Director, Anatomy and Physiology
taire@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyReproductive biology of male laboratory animals, Reproductive biology of male wildlife, Reproductive biology of male birds, Reproductive toxicology in laboratory animals and birds
Justina Aire, B.Ed, M.Ed, PhD
Assistant Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
Adjunct Associate Professor, Preveterinary Program/Leadership Programs

View Full Profile
Cooperating Faculty
Euan Allan, BSc, MSc, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine
eallan1@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyImmunology, Autoimmunity, Neuroinflammation, Parasitology, In Vivo and In Vitro models, Animal models of disease, Comparative Immunology
Muhammad I. Bhaiyat, BVM, PhD
Professor, Veterinary Pathology
Department of Paraclinical Studies
mibhaiyat@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyInfectious Diseases of Domestic Animals, Wild Animals, Poultry
Satesh Bidaisee DVM, MSPH, EdD, CPH, FRSPH
Professor of Public Health and Preventive Medicine
Assistant Dean for School of Graduate Studies
sbidaisee@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyEmerging Infectious Diseases , Zoonoses, Food Safety and Food Security, Graduate Medical Education, One Health, One Medicine Concept
Sonia Cheetham Brow, DVM, PhD
Associate Professor, Veterinary Virology
Department of Pathobiology, SVM
scheetha@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyViruses, Teaching, Research using both in vitro and in vivo models, Zoonotic viruses, Viruses in Grenada
Brian Phillip Butler, DVM, MPH, PhD
Associate Professor
Director of Diagnostic Anatomic Pathology
bbutler@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyMucosal immunology, Animal models of infectious disease, Alimentary and hepatobiliary pathology, Dermatopathology, Salmonella pathogenesis
Alfred Chikweto, BVetMed, MSc, PhD
Instructor, Veterinary Pathology
Department of Pathobiology
achikweto@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyToxoplasmosis, Cryptosposporidiosis in small ruminants, Animal neoplasms, Honey bee diseases
Anne Marie Corrigan, MS, DVM, MS DACVIM (SAIM)
Professor, Small Animal Internal Medicine
acorrigan@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyInfectious diseases
Camila B. Dores, DVM, MSc,PhD, ACVP
Associate Professor, Pathobiology
cdores@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyReproductive Pathology, Comparative Biology, Animal Models, Toxicology, Tissue Derived Stem Cells
Hugh W. Ferguson BVM&S, PhD, Dipl. ACVP, MRCVS, FRCPath
Professor Part Time, Department of Pathobiology
hferguson@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Comparative pathology, Pathophysiology, Defence mechanisms in lower vertebrates, especially fish
Paul J. Fields, PhD
Professor, Office of Research
pfields@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyBiostatistics, Biomedical Research
Dan Fitzpatrick, M.S.
Demonstrator Level III, St. George's University
School of Veterinary Medicine
Department of Pathobiology
dfitzpat@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyEntomology, Molecular genetics analysis, Virology, Parasitology, Cell and bacterial culture
Martin St. Clair Forde, ScD, P. Eng
Chair, Public Health and Preventive Medicine
mforde@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyOccupational Health and Safety, Workplace Evaluation, Exposure Assessment, Environmental Health, Evaluation of exposures to Persistent Organic Pollutants (POPS), Pesticides and heavy metals, Biomedical Waste Management, Ergonomics, Industrial Hygiene, Zoonoses
Francesca Ivaldi, MS, DVM
Associate Professor Small Animal Medicine and Surgery Academic Program
FIvaldi@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyClinical Skills, Dentistry, Education, Small Animal Surgery
Heidi Janicke, VetMed, PhD, MRCVS, Dipl. ECVS, SFHEA
Associate Professor
hjanicke@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyEquine Surgery, Large Animal surgery, Equine Inflammatory diseases, Teaching and Learning in Higher Education, Assessment in Higher Education, Curriculum Design in Higher Education
Richard Mugwanya Kabuusu, BVM, MPH, CPH, PhD
Associate Professor, Veterinary Clinical Pathology and Public Health
Department of Pathobiology
rkabuusu@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyDisease mapping, zoonotics, medical history, diagnostics, injury and infectious disease epidemiology, and ultrastructural pathology
Kamashi Kumar, BVSc & AH, MVSc, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
kamashikumar@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyAntimicrobial resistance, medicinal properties of natural plants, cell culture studies, nanoparticles, drug toxicity
Marta Lanza-Perea, Bach in Vet Med, MSc, MRCVS
Associate Professor for Small Animal Medicine and Surgery
mperea@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyInfectious Diseases, Specially Tick Borne Diseases, Shelter Medicine, One Health Once Medicine, Transmissible Venereal Tumor, Soft Tissue Surgery
Marios Loukas, MD, PhD
Professor
Department of Anatomical Sciences
mloukas@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyCardiac Anatomy, Cardiovascular Pathology, Surgical Anatomy and Technique, Arteriogenesis, Angiogenesis, Medical Education, History of Medicine, Molecular Biology, Teaching, Learning & Assessment, Ultrasound, Medical Education, Anatomical Services
Cheryl Macpherson, PhD
Professor and Head, Bioethics Division, Department of Clinical Skills, WINDREF Senior Research Fellow
ccox@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyResearch ethics, Public health ethics, Environmental health ethics, Bioethics education, Caribbean bioethics, End-of life and undertreated pain
Calum N.L. Macpherson, PhD, DIC
Vice Provost, International Development Program
Dean, School of Graduate Studies
Director of Research
Professor, Parasitology, School of Medicine
Professor, Veterinary Parasitology, School of Veterinary Medicine
cmacpherson@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyParasitology, Tropical Medicine, Epidemiology of Parasitic Zoonoses, Ultrasound for Tropical Parasitic Diseases
Dave Marancik, DVM, PhD, CertAqVet
Associate Professor of Aquatic Animal Medicine, Department of Pathobiology, School of Veterinary Medicine
dmaranci@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyAquaculture, Aquatic Animals, Biomarkers of Disease, Disease Diagnostics, Immunology, Pathology, Wildlife Veterinary Medicine
Clare Morrall, PhD
Director of the Marine Biology Program
cmorrall@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyMarine Medicine
Kerri Nigito, BSc, DVM
Clinical Instructor, Large Animal Medicine and Surgery, SVM
nigker1@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyFood safety, Food residues
Stephen Nimrod, MSc
Instructor in Marine Biology
Department of Life Sciences
snimrod@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyMarine Protected Areas (MPA), Coral Reef Conservation, Coral Bleaching, Threats and Impacts to Coral Reefs, Macroalgal Growth on Coral Reefs, Sea Urchin Fisheries
Trevor Paul Noël, MPH
Assistant Director, WINDREF Research Institute
trevornoel@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyNeglected Tropical Diseases, Rheumatic Fever, Rheumatic Heart Disease, Genetic Correlates of Addictive Diseases
Tara Paterson, DVM, MSc
Associate Professor Small Animal Medicine & Surgery department
tpaterson@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyCompanion animal clinical parasitology (demodicosis, Dirofilaria immitis), Companion animal vector-borne (heartworm disease, ehrlichisis, anaplasmosis) and infectious diseases (Leptospirosis), Companion animal dermatology
Ganesh Pathare, BVSc, PhD
Assistant Professor, ANPH
gpathare@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyKidney Physiology
Elizabeth A. Peach, BSc,CVT/LVT
Demonstrator Level III Department of Small Animal Medicine and Surgery
epeach@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyShelter Medicine, Animal Welfare, One Health One Medicine Initiative, Public Health, Zoonoses, Non-Surgical Forms of Sterilization for the Control of Overpopulation in Canines and Felines, Disaster Preparedness
Rhonda D. Pinckney, M.S., DVM, PhD
Professor
Department of Pathobiology
rpinckney@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyZoonotic Diseases, Infectious Diseases, Parasites of Public Health Significance, Parasitic Diseases, Parasitology and Tropical Medicine, Community Outreach Programs
Ravindra N. Sharma, BVSc & AH, MVSc, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Avian Diseases
Associate Dean Graduate Studies
rsharma@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyZoonotic Diseases, Infectious Diseases, Pathology of Diseases in various species of animals, Community Outreach Programs
Bhumika Sharma, BSc., MSc.
Veterinary Teaching Associate
bsharma@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyMicrobiology, Anaplasmataceae, Obligate Intracellular Pathogens, Molecular Biology
Andrew K. Sobering, PhD
Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry
asobering@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyInvestigations of natural toxins found in native Caribbean flora, Genetics
Diana M. Stone, MPH, DVM, PhD
Professor, Veterinary Public Health
Department of Pathobiology
dstone@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyZoonoses, specifically Zoonotic Viruses of Bats, Epidemiology of Zoonotic Diseases, Seroprevalence studies
Wayne R.B Sylvester, DVM
Assistant Professor/Clinician
Small Animal Medicine and Surgery Program
wsylvester@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyZoonotic Infectious Diseases, Vector-borne Diseases
Randall Waechter, BBA, PhD
Research Grants Coordinator
Windward Islands Research and Education Foundation (WINDREF)
rwaechte@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Cooperating FacultyMental Health, Behavioural Health, Cognitive Neuroscience, Attention, Working Memory, Reasoning, Decision-making, Anxiety, Trauma, Stress, Resilience, Child Maltreatment, Meditation, Yoga, Intent, Placebo Effect
Arno H. Werners, DVM, PhD, DECVPT
Professor of Pharmacology
awerners@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyInnate Immunity, (Equine) Clinical Pharmacology
Catherine Werners-Butler, PhD, DVM, MRCVS, Dipl. ECEIM, Dipl. RNVA
Associate Professor
Diplomate European College Equine Internal Medicine
Large Animal Medicine and Surgery Academic Program
cwerners@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyEquine, Tick-borne diseases, Zoonoses, Anaplasma phagocytophilum, Borrelia burgdorferi, Theileria equi, Babesia caballi
Melinda J. Wilkerson, DVM, MS, PhD
Diplomate, ACVP Professor and Chair, Pathobiology School of Veterinary Medicine
mwilkers@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyClinical Pathology, Immunopathology, and Vector borne diseases
Nicki Wise, DVM, PhD, DACVIM
Associate Professor, Pathobiology SVM
lwise1@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyEquine Infectious Diseases, Equine Piroplasmosis, Immunology
Hector Zerpa Gonzalez, MV. MSc. PhD.
Associate Professor, Anatomy, Physiology, and Pharmacology Department
hzerpago@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyCardiovascular physiology and pharmacology, Endothelial function, Vascular reactivity
Ulrike Zieger, MSc, DVM, German Doctorate (Veterinary Physiology)
Professor, Veterinary Physiology
Department of Preclinical Studies
uzieger@sgu.edu
View Full Profile
Full-Time FacultyWildlife Veterinary Medicine, Wildlife Conservation and Management, Wildlife Parasites, Wildlife Diseases and Disease Control, Game Capture, Management of Protected Areas