SVM Celebrates Excellence at Spring Term Awards Ceremony 

The School of Veterinary Medicine celebrated its Spring 2022 Term Awards on April 23 during a virtual event that included students, faculty, and staff.

Dr. Tara Paterson, SVM awards committee chair, opened the ceremony by remarking on the significance of the night: “Even though we are not all together celebrating in the same room or space, it doesn’t take away from the magnitude of the occasion. We hope that you enjoy spending the next hour with us celebrating your colleagues, your faculty, the staff, and all the wonderful things that contribute to making SGU such an amazing institution.”

Vice Provost of Institutional Advancement Brendan LaGrenade also addressed the virtual crowd. He shared his thoughts on continuing the ceremony virtually, and how it “is a testament to how important these awards are” to showcase students’ and faculty’s achievements. “I also feel compelled to add that you vets know how to make academia interesting and fun,” he added.

Over 20 sets of awards were presented during the event, including the first for SVM’s Surgery Club—the Sharpest Scalpel Award. Also of note was the Award for Outstanding Service to SGU honoring Dr. Rolf Larsen who will retire at the end of this term, and the induction of 26 students into the Alpha Delta Chapter of the Society of Phi Zeta.

“We at the School of Veterinary Medicine are proud to recognize the success and achievements of our students, faculty, and staff,” said Dr. Neil Olson, dean of the SVM, in the final welcoming remarks to kick off the night and begin the presentation of awards.

This semester’s awards are as follows:

Outstanding Colleague Awards 

Term 1 : Stephanie West

Term 2: Andrew Richterkessing

Term 3: Treg Brown

Term 4: Maureen Kruhlak

Term 5: Madison Kucinick

Term 6: Yvonne White

Dean Olson’s Award for Academic Excellence 

Joshua Fornengo, Jennifer Maguire, Emily Schafsteck, Paige Coughlin, Jacob Dempsey, Brenda Ruiz Anaya, Ericah Roncone

Adrienne Lotton Memorial Award 

Sheriden Nicholes

Zoetis Revolution Awards of Excellence

Small Animal Internal Medicine: Ida Yates-Lavery

Small Animal Surgery: Sheriden Nicholes

Equine Medicine and Surgery: Chloe Eaton

Food Animal Medicine and Surgery: Thomas Ramsey

Scholarship of Service: Tyler Epes

Surgery Team: Alexa Cameron, Acacia Johnson, Andrew Yacoub, Stephanie Smick

Student Research Award: Sara Schectman

SVM Alumni Scholarship Award

Madison Whitney

Giant Paws Giant Hearts Foundation “Hercules” Award

Sheriden Nicholes

PAWS Recognition Sixth Term Facilitators

Patrick Donegan, Ireny Barsoum, Brittany Riddick, Parveen Hothi, Michelle Mordukhaev

Feral Cat Project

Most Valuable Trapper: Emily Shin

Most Valuable Faculty/Staff: Dr. Wayne Sylvester

Veterinary Public Health Committee

One Health One Medicine Community Leader Award: Mallory Peak

SGUSVM Large Animal Society

Ace of Initiative Award: Melitsa Iaonnou

Most Valuable E-Board Member: Megan Gilmore

Student Chapter of the Society for Theriogenology

Therio-Hero: Ashley Emmett

Top Dam: Amanda Rottman Torres

AAARF: Angels in Armor Animal Rescue Fund

Friends of AAARF Award: Tyler Epes

SCACVIM: Student Chapter of the American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine MVP Award: Madison Whitney

SVECCS: Student Chapter of the Veterinary Emergency & Critical Care Society

Outstanding 6th Termer: Shelby Morales

Outstanding Member: Richard Joyce and Taryn Willamson

SNP: Spay Neuter Pothound

Pothound Faculty/Staff Hero Award: Dr. Marta Lanza Perea

Pothound Student Hero Award: Brooke Bray

SCACVP: Student Chapter of the American College of Veterinary Pathologists

The MVP (Most Valuable Pathologist): Glenna Maur

EWS: Exotics & Wildlife Society

The Tenacious Turtle Award: Rayner LeBlanc

EWS Wildest Faculty Award: Dr. Sophie Moittie

VBMA: Veterinary Business Management Association

Outstanding E-Board Member: Letty Bonilla

Impact Award: Meena Khoram Pierce

AWB: Animal Welfare and Behavior Committee

AWB Excellence Award: Jasmine Simmons

SVM Surgery Club

The Sharpest Scalpel Award: Maricella Medina

 SGA: Student Government Association

SGU SVM Outstanding Faculty Term 1-3: Dr. Hector Zerpa

SGU SVM Outstanding Faculty Term 4-6: Dr. Thomas Hanson

SGA SGU Awards of Excellence Term 1-3: Dr. Peter Slinger

SGA SGU Awards of Excellence Term 4-6: Ms. Elizabeth Peach

George B. Daniel Award: Sheridan Nicholes

The Pinckney Parasitology Award

Logan Bernstein

DES Recognition Awards

Amanda Via, Amanda Rottman, Cobi Guilbeau, Courtney Manly, Kira Rasmussen, Taylor Stanton

Alpha Delta Chapter of the Society of Phi Zeta

Spring 2022 Inductees

Term 5: Caitlyn Coartney, Lauren Fleming, Alexandra Garrett, Stephanie Ho, Samantha Hoover, Acacia Johnson, Jennifer Memleb, Madeline Muntean, Teylor Nealy, Samuel Ruch, Valerie Savino

Term 6: Madeleine Christen, Zachary Collette, Rachel Gray, Ida Yates-Lavery, Jenny Liu, Jenna McCartin, Jacob Moise, Brittany Murray, Jacqueline Nunnelley, Kyle Pinney, Brittany Riddick, Johana Maldonado-Ross, Rachel Uvaydov, Madison Whitney, Marielis Guzman-Sanchez

Faculty Inductees

Veterinary Faculty: Dr. Hector Zerpa and Dr. Mercedes Velazquez de Zerpa

Honorary Faculty: Ms. Janella Edwards

Spring 2022 Phi Zeta Scholarship: Jennifer Memleb

SGUSVM Award for Outstanding Service

Dr. Rolf Larsen

 SGUSVM Outstanding Staff Awards

Technical Staff: Renata Mandbodh-Mitchell

Administrative Staff: Cherry-Ann Lumpriss

Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teacher Award

Dr. Stacey Byers

– Sarah Stoss

Related Reading