Alumni Mentor Scholarships Awarded

St. George’s University Welcomes Class of 11 Scholarship Recipients

In the Spring 2014 term, St. George’s University welcomed 11 recipients of the esteemed Alumni Mentor Scholarship, a partial-tuition scholarship awarded to entering students who have been nominated by an SGU alum. Nominees must demonstrate the commitment and dedication necessary to achieve academic success and the passion and drive to become a physician.  Alumni whose applicant is chosen to receive a scholarship will be the guest of SGU to witness their future doctor’s entrance into the medical profession at the White Coat Ceremony in Grenada.

For more information or to nominate a promising student for an Alumni Mentor Scholarship, visit The deadline for nominations for the August 2014 class is June 1, 2014. For the January 2015 class, submissions must be submitted no later than November 1, 2014.

Entering StudentHometownAlumni MentorSGU Class
Spencer BonnerupAlbert Lea, MNDr. Joseph RybarMD, ‘08
Zachary BurkhartChandler, AZDr. Michael HerionMD, ‘98
Kyle CabisonHilo, HIDr. James Van NattaMD, ‘00
Kristie DangerfieldSchenectady, NYDr. Lea BeckerDVM, ‘05
Mary GeorgeLa Crosse, WIDr. Micah ChanMD, ‘02
Sabrina HarrellSan Jose, CADr. Angela Lumba-BrownMD, ‘06
Michel KhouryStockton, CADr. George KhouryMD, ‘84
Chijioke OnyekweluMissouri City, TXDr. Jessica BestMD, ‘12
Valeria RipaHallandale Beach, FLDr. Timur UrakovMD, ‘12
Ryan RossosParma, OHDr. Nita BhattMPH, ‘05, MD, ‘11
Anna TrtchounianLa Crescenta, CADr. Tuong TaMD, ‘13