ray kaplan


ray kaplan
Email: rkaplan@sgu.edu

Dr. Kaplan is a Professor in the Department Pathobiology in the School of Veterinary Medicine at St. George’s University, where he also serves as the Associate Dean of Graduate Studies. Dr. Kaplan received his bachelor’s degree from Virginia Tech and his DVM from Virginia-Maryland College of Veterinary Medicine.  He worked as a clinical veterinarian in a mixed-species private practice in Pennsylvania for several years before leaving for the University of Florida where he earned a PhD in Veterinary Parasitology.  He then served in the US Army Veterinary Corps at the Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, where he was Chief of Parasite Biology in the Division of Experimental Therapeutics. Prior to his position at St. George’s University, Dr. Kaplan was a Professor at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine for 23 years, where he performed research, teaching and service in veterinary parasitology. He remains affiliated with University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine as a Professor Emeritus.

Dr. Kaplan’s research program is focused on measuring, understanding, and solving the problem of drug resistance in helminth parasites.  He has published >100 papers in peer-reviewed scientific journals with an h-index of 45 and >8400 citations. Several of his papers are recognized as the most highly cited in the field of veterinary parasitology. He has served as a reviewer for >50 scientific journals and as an grant reviewer for >20 foundations and organizations. In the course of his career, Dr. Kaplan has been PI or Co-PI on more than 50 grants and contracts totaling approximately $25 million.

Dr. Kaplan is a Diplomate of both the American College of Veterinary Microbiologists (Parasitology) and the European Veterinary Parasitology College, and is a past President of the American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists.  Dr. Kaplan also is recipient of the Pfizer Award for Research Excellence, the University of Georgia Charles N. Dobbins Award for Excellence in Service, the Dr. Fred C. Davison Award for outstanding service to veterinary medicine, and the American Association of Veterinary Parasitologists – Boehringer Ingelheim Distinguished Veterinary Parasitologist Award.